Conquering the Hill

Yesterday, Sean and I ran the Hospital Hill 5K. As the name may suggest, there are some killer hills. Sean and I have been training for this for about 8 weeks.

I was a bad blogger and didn’t take any pictures of food yesterday, so I will spare you from my poor descriptions and just tell you about the race.

Once we parked (which was no small feat), we headed straight to a restroom. I was so well-hydrated that I had to pee. We waited in line and finally got out with about 6 minutes until the race started. We jogged to the starting line and joined the other xxx participants.

The horn went off!

Mile 1: Sean and I took off! We were weaving through people and ended up on the sidewalk most of the time because it was the least congested. I felt great. My legs were light. I felt strong!

Time: 9:35
– 130 ascent

Mile 2: Mile 1 ended with a long downhill but mile 2 started with a small teaser of an uphill. My legs were still feeling pretty good. We turned the corner and there was the first half of “the hill”. I wanted to maintain above an 11 min mile pace but half way up I dropped below that. My legs started to feel heavy and my mind started to doubt. I got the top and the road started to flatten. I lengthened my stride and picked up my pace. Then we got to the second half of “the hill”. This was steeper than before. By that time, my legs felt like lead and my mind kept telling me to just walk. Sean stayed by my side and helped try to distract me by telling me about random things. I am not really sure how I didn’t stop, but I didn’t. I made it to the top!

Time: 10:52 min
– 175 ft ascent

Mile 3: I wish I could say that after the hill, I was as strong as ever. That would be a lie. My legs were tired and heavy. I wanted to stop. I didn’t though. I picked up speed on the downhills and watched for the finish line. Thankfully, it was downhill to the finish line. With the finish line in site, Sean took off in hopes of making it in under 30 minutes. I picked up my pace also and sprinted into the finish line. I gave it everything I had. I kept thinking that I didn’t want to regret not giving it my all.

Time: 10:14 min
– 122 ascent

My Garmin told me that I finished in 31:08! (Later found out, my official time was 31:04) I was elated! My goal was to finish in 33 min and I killed that goal. I found Sean in the crowd and told him. He was so happy for me!

The feeling after the race was over, was a complete 180 from how I felt during the race. Somehow, I forgot how hard it was and how much I had wanted to quit when I found out that I had conquered my goal.

I will definitely be doing it again next year.


This entry was posted in race. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conquering the Hill

  1. Sean says:

    So next year we are both finishing under 30. Preferably under 28. YAHOO! Good job honey you killed it even though you felt like it was killing you.

Leave a Reply

