A Rookie Blogger

On Saturday my mom and her boyfriend, Stan, came to spend the day with Sean and I. We had a wonderful time! But as I went through my pictures to tell you about it, I realized that I made some serious rookie mistakes.

I will start out at the beginning. The four of us took Enzo for a walk at the dog park. It was hot but Enzo had a great time.

Rookie blogger mistake #1: No dog park pictures… at all. Not even a bad one.

When we got back from the walk, I set out some cheese, crackers, hummus, and almonds.


My mom brought the booze! She brought a bottle of white wine for her and I and Stella for Sean. (Stan doesn’t drink so don’t think we left him out due to our cold hearts or anything.)


Rookie blogger mistake #2: Really bad lighting! Eek! We definitely didn’t eat in the dark but this picture makes it look like we are in a cave. Note to self: check the pictures before putting the lens cap back on and calling it good.

We filled up on cheese and crackers, so I kept dinner light.


I coated some thinly sliced pork chops in a lemon pepper rub and then cooked them on the stovetop. Under the pork chops is a bed of baby romaine, garbanzo beans, bell peppers, and cucumbers. I doused the whole thing in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and agave. It was a great dinner for a hot day!

Earlier that day, I made an angel food cake for dessert.



Sift…



an fold. X8. This cake was much easier to make with a stand mixer than a handheld one!

Rookie Blogger mistake #3: I didn’t take a picture of the finished product. I only took pictures as it was being consumed. It’s a shame too. It was a beauty.


My slice piled high with Cool Whip and strawberries.


Sean’s slice with the addition of blueberries and about 10 times as much Cool Whip. I think he might have an addiction. Not sure how to break it to him … guess the internet it is. Honey, you have a problem.

After dessert it was time for my mom and Stan to head back to Columbia (a 2 hour drive). I was so sad to see them go. I love seeing my mom!

Rookie Blogger mistake #4: No pictures of the guests … or Sean and I for that matter. I only took food pictures. And some of Enzo….


So next time I have such a fun day, I will try to be better about having photographic evidence. This time you will just have to take my word for it. I promise. It was fun.


This entry was posted in Angel food cake, Enzo, Mama, salad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

