Moving on….

Hi peeps! I have been super MIA lately. I just haven’t been able to wrap my head around what I should talk about here on my little blog.

Recipes? I borrow recipes like it’s going out of style so my posts would just be a list of links.
Fitness? Pretty sure I am still trying to figure this one out myself.
Clothes? I have gotten into such a style rut that it wouldn’t even be worth writing about much less reading about.
Kids? I don’t have any of my own, and posting about other people’s kids is kind of like stalking. I’m not ok with that.

I just don’t have an answer so my posts might be random, and I am just going to be ok with that.

There is a little bit of excitement around the SVL (seeveronicalearn – I’m going to try out the acronym and see if I like it) household. I’m going back to school! Oh yes, I have officially given my two weeks notice to my corporate job in order to go back to school and get my master’s. Master’s in what you say? Early Childhood Education. Yes, you read that right. I am going to be a teacher. Not a lawyer like my blog BFF (wow, I am just busting out acronyms right and left) Lauren. I will teach her future kids and she will give me advice on trademarks and patents. I think its a fair deal. Lauren, are you down?

It’s has been a long time coming. I will go into the detail another time, but suffice to say that I am super excited about the big change!

As I transition back to being a student, I am also taking hold of my health. Two years out of school and into a cubicle has given me a few extra pounds that I am so ready to shed. I have fallen into a pattern of laziness and poor food choices. It is not bad enough to put me on an episode of the Biggest Loser but enough to make half my closet unwearable. I am just tired of it. I am making a choice to change it.

I have added a Workouts page to motivate me to stay active. I am not setting any specific goals as of right now. I want to wait and see how my schedule goes once I start school.

As far as food goes, I am working on incorporating more vegetables and smaller portions of the stuff I love but can’t quite give up (read ice cream). On that note, here is last night’s dinner.

Dinner


Whole wheat spaghetti and steamed zucchini covered with Bertolli Olive Oil and Garlic spaghetti sauce with half a sandwich thin with butter, garlic powder and Parmesan cheese toasted under the broiler. I added a little ground turkey left over from tacos the night before when I warmed the sauce. I also had half a glass of red wine to soothe the soul!

I used a vegetable peeler to get thin strips of zucchini.


See it peeking out! This idea came from Sabrina and is a genius way to get some more vegetables into a meal.

I didn’t time everything right so we had a second course of boiled green beans. Simple but delicious!



For dessert, I had half a chocolate brownie, a small scoop of Almond Dream chocolate ice cream and a small spoonful of Nutella. Should I have skipped dessert? Probably. Did I want to? No! So I opted for a smaller portion. My craving was satiated.


Phew! That was super long. If you are still reading, kudos to you! I hope to be a little more consistent with my posts, but promise to not be so lengthy.


This entry was posted in big change, dinner, spaghetti, teacher, zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on….

  1. RhodeyGirl says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I LOVE those placemats, AND how clean your place looks in the background. I love clean homes!

    Congrats on going back to school!!!

  2. Deb says:

    Congrats on your going back to school!!! I am so happy for you (and of course Sean). It will be nice to move on to do something I know you’ll love!! I’ll be back in Missouri on Sat. Hope to see you guys soon!

Leave a Reply

