Just Put It On Some Bread

Good Morning!!! Great Harvest bread has been the star of my last two meals! I can’t believe that I have been using store bought bread for so long. There is really nothing like fresh bread. Yeah it has more calories, but the taste is so much more satisfying.

Dinner

Last nights’s dinner was totally inspired by this.


That would be the ratatouille crostini that Lauren and I enjoyed at 715 on Friday. I was craving it so I did what I could to recreate it.


It is a totally un-photogenic meal but it was so tasty. I sauteed red bell peppers, red onion, zucchini and garlic over low heat in olive oil. I added basil, thyme and a bay leaf when they were almost done. I am not good at adding spices to any dish just by instinct so I opened up my Joy of Cooking to see what spices they used in ratatouille and then just used those. I can’t even begin to tell you how much flavor this dish had. I also cooked a small steak on the stovetop. Sean has been craving some good ole red meat, so I obliged. I piled the vegetables and steak on top of a slice of sourdough bread that I had brushed with olive oil and toasted under the broiler. The whole thing was topped off with some grated provolone that we had sitting in the fridge. There are a few things I will change next time I make it but overall it was super delicious.

Breakfast

Moving on to breakfast, I enjoyed the other Great Harvest bread that I picked up on Friday – cinnamon chip. I don’t even have a picture of the little loaf that I got because it is gone! It was so doughy and sweet. Holy yum! This morning I made french toast out of what was left of it.


Nothing special – dipped in egg and cooked on the stove. I topped one slice with Nutella and the other with agave and powdered sugar then threw strawberries over all of it. It was almost too much, but only almost. I finished it off but definitely could not have had another bite.

Sean and I are off to run more errands -Target, Bed Bath and Beyond, Old Navy and then Hy-Vee.

Sound so exciting right! Don’t be jealous.


This entry was posted in bread, breakfast, dinner, Great Harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

