Banana Bread: Successfull Substitutes

As I mentioned in the last post, I had some over ripe bananas just begging to be made into banana bread. I looked to my Joy of Cooking to get the basic recipe. I wanted to see if I could healthify it. Tinkering with recipes is not my thing, so I crossed my fingers that this would turn out. It did!


Banana Bread

Adapted from the Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:
1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/3 Greek yogurt
2/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs, slightly beaten
1 cup mashed bananas (about 2)

In a separate bowl whisk together flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.

In another bowl beat on high speed, the yogurt and sugar. Once combined, gradually add in dry mixture. Then add eggs. Lastly, fold in bananas.

Bake in a loaf pan at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes. Let cool completely before cutting – well, try your best!

This bread stayed super moist and was very flavorful. I had a piece last night with a little bit of peanut butter!


This entry was posted in banana, banana bread, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

