To Do or Not To Do #1

I am currently sitting in the School of Education study room with a full lunchbox that I didn’t take pictures of reading my Google reader because I don’t have any homework I can do at this moment. I have only had two classes so far, but I noticed a few things that I hope to do and not to do as a teacher. I am sure I will come across more of these in the future thus my title includes #1.

To Do

Force my students to do things they wouldn’t normally do.

I haven’t talked about this on my little blog, but I deal with a lot of anxiety when it comes to new situations. I could trace this back to an event in my life, but that’s a little deep for a Tuesday afternoon. My point is that I of all people HATE feeling uncomfortable or embarrassed. I do everything within my power to plan ahead and know as best as I can what to expect.

In my first class today, the teacher had us recite poetry while the rest of our grouped hummed a song. We took turns each reciting a poem and then falling back into the humming group. Not something within my comfort zone, but I did it. I survived. I wouldn’t have done it if the teacher hadn’t required me to do so.

Not To Do

Tell students my tests are hard.

I hate this. As a valedictorian in high school with a 4.0 and graduating in the top 1% of my class as an undergrad (It’s my blog – I can brag!), I find it extremely laughable that any teacher would assume that every single student will struggle on a test. Surely a teacher of all people would know that each student is different than the next, so why say such a generalization as “My tests are hard.” I believe that it is out of a lack of vocabulary that a teacher would describe a test as hard. How about “require you to study”, “full of problem solving”, “not straight from the book”? I will get back to you after the first test in this class to see if hard truly describes his tests.


This entry was posted in to do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

