The Last Long Run

Ok, so I have been a total blogging slacker, but I have not been slacking on my long runs. Out of my entire training schedule, I have completed each and every one of my long runs. Today was my final long run, and I have worked really hard to get to this point.

I conquered 6 miles.
Total Time: 1 hour 9 minutes
Avg Pace: 11:10/mile

7 miles conquered me – that is I only made it to 6.38 miles.
Total Time: 1 hour 16 min 55 sec
Avg Pace: 12:03/mile

My fuel killed my 8 miles.
Total Time: 1 hour 37 min 12 seconds
Avg Pace: 12:08/mile

I handily completed 9 miles.
Total Time: 1 hour 47 min 53 sec
Avg Pace: 11:59/mile

And lastly, I proved to myself that I could finish 10 miles.
Total Time: 1 hour 57 min 15 sec
Avg Pace: 11:43/mile

I was really unsure if I could complete 10 miles.


Who runs 10 miles! Am I crazy! I did not complete these miles alone. These are the usual suspects:


Camelbak with holder
iPod shuffle
Garmin
Agave nectar – just for today


Well-loved Brooks Adrenalines

With that I was off. Although I live in Kansas which is 80% flat, I live in the 20% that is not flat. There are some nasty hills no matter which route I take.


Not sure the best way to take a picture of a hill, but just trust me. These are not nice hills. Despite the hills, I finished.


Yes! I celebrated … after I stretched, showered, ate lunch, walked the dog and ran some errands.


I spent the afternoon curled up on the couch with my Starbucks, my puppy, and a book. It was fantastic! It couldn’t last forever since I had class this evening. Boo!

Dinner


Dinner was easy but oh so delicious!


Roasted brussel sprouts and carrots.


Roasted potatos and turkey burger with cheese. Plus some ketchup for dipping!

The rewards continued with dessert.


I ate the whole thing and enjoyed every bite!
I am off to bed. It has been a great but long day.


This entry was posted in dinner, KC Half, run. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Long Run

  1. Lauren says:

    great job! I am excited for next weekend! bring on the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

