A Perfect Day to Race

I did it!!!! I finished my first half marathon!!! Let me start at the beginning.

Sean and I got up at 5am. It was dark and rather chilly, but we didn’t let it get to us. I ate the usual peanut butter toast and coffee. We left the house by 6:15. We parked, peed and were at the starting line by 7:15.


I was nervous. Clearly. It was such a big moment. I had spent so much time training, but could I really do it? Would I make it?

The gun went off. It took 5 minutes before I crossed the starting line. I promised myself that I would run my pace and not run the first few miles too fast. I put in my headphones and let people pass me. It was the best decision I could have made.

I felt great. I felt strong, energetic and happy until about mile 9. It was then that I started to get a little bored, my legs were a little heavier than when I started but I just kept going. I couldn’t have asked for better weather or a better course. There were a few hills but compared to the hills I am used to running around my neighborhood, they were minimal. I felt awesome passing people going up the hill.

I ate two honey packets – one at mile 6 and another at mile 9. I drank water throughout. By mile 11 I was really really really ready to see the finish line. I had come so far and although I wanted to walk I didn’t let myself. I just told myself that I only had 2 miles left. Finally the crowd started the thicken and the metal gates showed up and I saw it.


I picked up my pace and sprinted to the finished. Just as I crossed the finish line I saw my mom and Sean.


I finished and I finished strong! I was winded and my legs hurt, but I did it. I hobbled through the gates until I could sit down. I stretched.


I sat, and I took it all in.


I did it!!!! I didn’t break any records, but I proved to myself that I could run 13.1 miles. I am proud of myself.

Official time: 2:35:57
Garmin time: 2:35:57
Mile 1 11:36
MIle 2 11:27
MIle 3 11:42
Mile 4 11:48 (walked for 0.1)
Mile 5 11:27
Mile 6 11:21
Mile 7 11:32 (walked for 0.1)
Mile 8 11:36
Mile 9 11:44
Mile 10 13:24 (stopped to stretch and walked)
Mile 11 11:47
Mile 12 11:48
Mile 13 12:09
Last 0.26 2:29 (9:37 pace)

Sean and I spent the rest of the day relaxing. We celebrated by going to dinner at Spin Pizza. It was the perfect way to end a truly perfect day.

I already have plans for my next half and working on a new time goal.


This entry was posted in KC Half. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

