The Thick and the Creamy

I am pretty sure that every time I make oatmeal it turns out different. Oatmeal is a finicky food – or at least mine is. Yesterday my oatmeal was super creamy while today my oatmeal was much thicker. I prefer thicker oatmeal, but I figured I would tell you how I made the creamy oats as well.

The Creamy Blueberry Oatmeal


Ingredients:
– 1/3 cup rolled oats
– 1 cup soy milk (any milk)
– splash of vanillla
– pinch of salt
– 1 tbl flaxseed meal
– 1 ripe banana
– ~ 1/3 frozen blueberries (or fresh)

In a medium saucepan, combine all but the banana and blueberries and begin to cook over medium – low heat.

In a food processor (or blender) blend banana and blueberries together. I did this because I am not a huge fan of the texture of blueberries, but I love the flavor and wanted to nutrients. However, I think this ended up making the oats uber creamy. Once the banana and blueberries are smooth, add to oatmeal.

I stirred off and on until there was no more liquid.

The Thick Cinnamon Oatmeal


Ingredients:
– 1/2 cup rolled oats
– 1 cup soy milk
– splash of vanilla
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– pinch of nutmeg
– pinch of salt

Combine all into a medium saucepan over medium-low heat. Then stir. I cooked and stirred until it got to the thickness that I like. I topped it with a banana since it wasn’t included in the oatmeal itself.


This entry was posted in breakfast, oatmeal, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

