I Would Like to Thank the Lime

A few weeks ago I scoured the internet for slow-cooker recipes. It was – who am I kidding, it is – freezing here in Kansas so I wanted to have some easy hot meals. I came across a Cooking Light recipe for pork stew. I made it once and the flavors were a little over-powering, but Sean loved it. Because I am a good wife, I made it again this week with a few changes and it turned out phenomenal!

Thai-Style Pork Stew
Adapted from Cooking Light


1.4 pound pork tenderloin
2 sliced red bell peppers
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
2 tbl lime juice
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
2 tsp minced garlic
1/4 cup cream peanut butter

1 cup brown rice

Toppings:
peanuts
green onions
fresh lime

Place pork, bell pepper, teriyaki sauce, lime juice, crushed red pepper and garlic in slow-cooker. I cut my pork tenderloin into 4 pieces so it would cook faster. Cook on LOW for 7 hours.

When the pork is done, remove from the slow-cooker and shred. You know the pork is done when it is easily pulled apart by a fork. Add peanut butter to the remaining liquid in the slow-cooker and then stir in the shredded pork.


I served the pork over brown rice and topped it with peanuts and green onions. I also squeezed a fresh lime wedge on top.


The original recipe called for white wine vinegar, but I didn’t have any. I improvised and used lime juice. It was a fantastic substitution! The lime juice totally balances out the peanut butter – in my totally non-professional opinion. The first time I made this recipe, I just skipped the white wine vinegar and didn’t replace it with anything. The peanut butter over-powered the dish. This time the lime juice brought the balance! Seriously this was so delicious!

I hope you try this, and you love it!


This entry was posted in dinner, peanut butter, pork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment